My Journey to Self-Love

Self-love is having an immense desire for your own happiness, growth and well-being.

As an adolescent who struggled with being overweight and had low self-esteem, I knew the opposite of self-love. I went through a time of transition, from losing weight to eventually engaging in unhealthy habits to keep the weight off. Unhealthy eating habits that included starvation, binge eating, forcefully throwing up (and much more)…I was borderline bulimic or something. My heaviest was over 180 pounds and my lowest weight was about 115 pounds. Nowadays, I can go months without weighing myself…to keep me from stressing out!

My Journey to Self-Love

During those years, I had a love-hate relationship with food, struggled with a low self-image and struggled with truly loving myself. Heck, I didn’t even know what self-love was!  Even after adapting a healthier lifestyle, it took a while to truly love myself. I went into college, still with that negative self-image.

I picked on myself and would complain about how I looked. It got to a point where I hated wearing short sleeves, due to the stretch marks on my arms from being overweight. I spent most of my time in that state, not embracing myself and my body.

However, today I make it a point to affirm my worth everyday and smile as I look at my reflection in the mirror. Because, I am fearfully and wonderfully made and SO ARE YOU!

Though it took me a while, I’ve truly embraced my body and I didn’t have to do anything drastic to love myself. Yes, there are days when I don’t feel my best, but we all have those days. However, you must choose to love yourself right now…despite your flaws. 

It’s such a beautiful thing when you get to appreciate the work of God through your life.

Self-love is skin deep and for some, it will take months or years to get to that point. However, it takes just a single choice to start that process. Are you ready to start that process? I hope so, because I’m rooting for you 😉

Come back next week, as I share my take on self-love and share tips/steps to take to loving yourself.

xoxo

 Seun

2 thoughts on “My Journey to Self-Love

  1. Self love is such a undervalued but such an important topic especially these days when there is so much pressure to look a part! Love this!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Share your thoughts on the post above :)

